top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturehelloculturd

2 - Ingredient Handmade Noodles

As much as I love making bread, I decided to take on a new challenge. After all, one of my favorite foods is NOODLES. So I thought, why not and see if I can make my own! I grew up eating all sorts of noodles from rice noodles, vermicelli, and starch noodles. And lately, with the time I have on my hands, I wanted to recreate some of those delicious memories.


What I love about the following recipe is that it’s so versatile. Depending on your preference, you can make it thick, thin, or flat. Additionally, you can use the noodles for noodle soups, stir-fry, and even as cold noodles! You can store the noodles in the fridge for up to 3 days and in the freezer for up to a week!


Lastly, the best thing is that making this noodle only requires 3 ingredients that you can most definitely find in your pantry -- FLOUR, WATER, and SALT! The whole process only takes up to about an hour so you can make this whenever you’re craving it.


The recipe below provides 3 servings of noodles! You can easily double it if you have a larger crowd or want to make extra to store.


INGREDIENTS:

1 â…” cup Flour

¾ cup water

Pinch of salt


METHOD:

  1. In a big bowl, combine flour, salt and slowly add the water while stirring.

  2. Mix until there is no dry flour and ready to knead

  3. Knead until the dough is smooth and soft - If the dough feels too rough, allow it to rest for 10 to 20 minutes before kneading again.

  4. Cover the bowl with a wet towel and allow the dough to rest for 30 minutes

  5. On a floured surface, roll out the dough into a rectangle of 0.5cm or to your desired noodle thickness

  6. Flour all sides of the dough and fold it up. You can continue to add more flour so that the dough doesn’t stick.

  7. Cut the folded dough into thin strips or your desired width.

  8. Unfold the strips and excess flour, store or cook immediately after.


Cooking Time - 10 minutes in boiling water, however this can change if you change the thickness and width of the noodles.


Below are some pictures that can help assist with the process! Enjoy the noodles! I’ll be posting about the sauce I made for the noodles soon!



Take a try and let us know how it goes in the comments below!




12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page