top of page
Search
  • Nicole

This Japanese Omelette called Tamagoyaki is EGG-SQUISITE

I don’t even know where to begin to start telling you how much I love to cook with eggs. You can use them for so many different dishes, they last a long time in your fridge and are so affordable!!! So it only makes sense that I share with you one of my favorite egg recipes of all time. It’s the Japanese omelette also known as tamagoyaki, you may have seen it when you’ve gone out to sushi and guess what?! It’s super easy to make under 30 minutes with just a few ingredients. The original recipe calls for a tamagoyaki pan, but I just used a nonstick pan and it works just as well!


Upon first glance, you may notice that you probably already own all the ingredients except maybe Dashi. Dashi is one of the most important ingredients in this recipe, is it a Japanese household staple and is made from dried kelp and tuna. It’s got a great umami flavor to it and I love adding it to many of my dishes.


Anyways, give the recipe below a try, I hope that you’ll enjoy it just as much as I do!


TAMAGOYAKI RECIPE :

Ingredients:

3 Eggs

â…› tsp Dashi powder

½ tsp Soy Sauce

½ Tb Sugar

â…“ cup Water

Pinch of salt

Oil for the pan


Equipment:

Non-stick pan

Spatula


1. Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl

2. Add oil to the pan on medium heat

3. Place â…“ of the total egg mixture on to the pan, you may have to swirl the pan around so the egg covers the whole pan.

4. When it is half cooked begin rolling it one third of the way

5. Bring the rolled omelette back to the beginning and add another â…“ of the egg mixture

6. Repeat until all the egg mixture is used up

7. Set aside to cool, then cut to serve and ENJOY!





4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page